Skip to content

October 13, 2014

Harrison Township Zoning Commission

Meeting Minutes

October 13, 2014

The Harrison Township Zoning Commission meeting was called to order by Chair Kelly Spriggs at 8:00 pm. Present were Kelly Spriggs, Ronde Cook-Brushart, Doug Czako, James Wells, Trevor Younkin , Zoning Inspector Joe DeFelice and Harrison Township Clerk MaryAnn Elliott.

Clerk MaryAnn Elliott read the minutes from the July 14, 2014 meeting. Kelly Spriggs moved and Doug Czako seconded a motion to accept the minutes with the correction of the word “wasted” to “waste”. Kelly called for a vote and all voted yes. Motion carried.


Joe reported that according to the Assistant Prosecutor we need pictures of the business operations at the Burdak residence, such as deliveries, etc.

Danny Bailey has hired a survey company to consolidate his two properties into one parcel. As soon as that is done, he can apply for a zoning certificate for the building on his property. He also reported that he has cleaned up his yard, and Joe plans to verify that tomorrow.

Joe also reported on the plan submitted by Paul Pence to build a new 60’ x 120’ building to hold all of his equipment. It was approved by the Zoning Appeals Board tonight.


Kelly passed out a copy of an ordinance from the City of Berea regarding abandoned and vacant buildings. They keep track of all properties in foreclosure and make sure the property is cared for. She suggested the commission continue to look for information on how other townships or small cities handle these buildings.

Kelly stated the next meeting is in January of 2015 and the Board needs to elect a Chairperson for 2015. Ronde moved and Doug seconded a motion to appoint Kelly Spriggs as the Chair for the Zoning Commission for 2015. All members voted yes. Motion approved.

Trevor asked about the house on Weigand Road that has been vacant for a long time. No one present had any knowledge about that property.

Ronde moved and Kelly seconded a motion to adjourn at 8:35pm. All were in favor.

The next meeting will be Monday, January 12, 2015.

MaryAnn Elliott, Harrison Township Fiscal Officer/Clerk