Skip to content

Zoning Commission Meeting Minutes January 2011

Entries from January 1, 2011 – January 31, 2011

January 10, 2011


Harrison Township Zoning Commission

Meeting Minutes

January 10, 2011

The Harrison Twp. Zoning Commission January meeting was called to order by Chair Mark Coon at 8:00PM.  Present were Barbara Younkin, Mark Coon, Dorothy Green, Kelly Spriggs, Joe DeFelice and Carol Balthaser.

Minutes from the November 16, 2010 hearing were read.  The following revisions were made to those minutes:

Mark Coon:  On voting for the passage of the Pandora Grain Development Plan:  Minutes should state that the proposal passed unanimously among those voting with one abstention on record.

Kelly Spriggs:  Drawings presented to the Zoning Committee by David Whippel were given to Joe DeFelice for retention.  Also Greenlawn’s permit was to repair the red buildings on their site.

With these revisions, the minutes were approved.


Joe DeFelice stated that Pat Neal has appealed Joe’s zoning violation citation to the Pickaway County Common Pleas Court.  In anticipation of resolving this violation, a court approved settlement was reached and will be reviewed in a public hearing by the Harrison Township Trustees on February 7, 2011.  The proposed settlement is for 12967 Ashville Pike from Agricultural use only to Contractor equipment and storage yard coupled with some agricultural use.  The proposed change would fall under General Business, Section 17.03 (Conditional Uses), Item H which states:  Contractor equipment and storage yards, provided adequate fencing and screening devices are installed.  A Development Plan, pursuant to Section 11.02.07, shall be required.

Joe stated that Greenlawn has completed construction on their stick built home and has landscaped around it.

Harrison Township Trustees approved the Pandora Grain Development Plan that the Zoning Commission reviewed, modified and approved.


Warriet Savage is moving from Harrison Township and has resigned from the Zoning Commission.

Kelly Spriggs expressed concern that David Whippel was residing in a General Business zoned district.  Joe DeFelice stated that he could not find in the regulations where someone cannot live in a General Business District.

Prior to opening the nominations for Chair of the Zoning Committee for the 2011 calendar year, Mark reminded the committee members that the Trustees had requested that the members rotate the position among them from one year to the next.  Nominations were then opened for Chairman.  Barbara Younkin nominated Kelly Spriggs.  Kelly Spriggs nominated Mark Coon.  Dorothy Green seconded Mark’s nomination.  Barbara Younkin retracted her nomination of Kelly.  Barbara Younkin moved that the nominations be closed.  Dorothy Green seconded the motion.  Mark Coon was re-elected chair for the 2011 calendar year.  Mark Coon requested that the minutes reflect his attempt to follow the request of the Trustees regarding rotation of the members through the Chair position from one year to the next

Dorothy Green moved to adjourn.  Motion seconded by Kelly Spriggs.  All in favor—motion passed.

Next meeting will be April 11, 2011 at 8:00 P.M.

Carol Balthaser